Prodigy Advance and computer display options

ITG

• RMweb Gold

Apologies if this appears to be a repeat of an oft aired topic, but I’m a novice returner to model railways.

I’ve laid the first stage of track to be up and running, and invested in a Prodigy Advance 2. I have noted the comments on this forum and elsewhere about the challenges of running this particular DCC system with JMRI, but what I’ve found more difficult to find is experiences of which ‘mimic’ type software is fairly straightforward to set up and does work well with Prodigy.

I think my requirements are reasonably straightforward, as I’m not looking for track sensors or automation etc. But what I would like is a visual representation of my track plan with visible point (ie turnout)  direction settings displayed as a minimum, or, as a bonus, with on-screen control of said point settings. I have an iPad and a Windows 10 touchscreen laptop, and to use either would be an option.

i have points in not particularly visible (from the control location) areas of the layout and using on the Prodigy handset can lead to me failing to remember and then view point settings. Hence the wish for an on-screen display.

so what are my options? Or would I be advised to plan to exchange the Prodigy for an alternative? Whilst I’d rather not do this, if I did, which system would then align/link successfully with a suitable software (JMRI or other)?

thanks in advance for any help.

ian

Everything you want to do can be accomplished using a Roco z/Z21 or a Digikeijs DR5000 using the free Roco Z21 application on iOS or Android

The challenge is the Win10 laptop but again that can be achieved using JMRI or much more easily by using software such as iTrain

Edited by WIMorrison

• RMweb Premium

I disagree that Itrain would be easier than JMRI - it’s absolutely bread and butter JMRI stuff. It’s what I use it for (with a touchscreen), no need to pay loads of money for automation features you don’t want.