The non-railway and non-modelling social zone. Please ensure forum rules are adhered to in this area too!

The Shrunken Royal Navy

The Stationmaster

• RMweb Gold

A new thread to hopefully keep this subject alive now that the original has been killed off,.  This thread is about the Royal Navy (although others get an occasional look in) and its trials and tribulations, including equipment in the modern world.  This might at times inevitably get slightly political in relation to RN funding but that, please is about as 'political' as it should get - we don't want this thread killed off too please.

https://www.royalnavy.mod.uk/the-equipment/ships/aircraft-carrier/aircraft-carrier

• Like 4
  • Informative/Useful 1

The Norwegian frigate has been raised and refloated according to this article in Maritime Executive. I am a layman in nautical affairs but from what I can see the damage seems to be above the warterline; that being the case I am wondering how she came to take on so much water that it was decided to abandon her. Unless there is further damage below the camera view.

https://www.maritime-executive.com/article/damaged-norwegian-frigate-patched-and-refloated

• Informative/Useful 1

Among the range of operations conducted by the RN is the secretive deployment of special forces from submarines. Savetheroyalnavy.org has this article that brings the story up to date.  Hope you find this of interest.

https://www.savetheroyalnavy.org/in-focus-royal-navy-submarine-special-forces-delivery-systems/

• Like 2
  • Informative/Useful 1

• RMweb Gold
On 23/04/2019 at 22:05, Ohmisterporter said:

Among the range of operations conducted by the RN is the secretive deployment of special forces from submarines. Savetheroyalnavy.org has this article that brings the story up to date.  Hope you find this of interest.

https://www.savetheroyalnavy.org/in-focus-royal-navy-submarine-special-forces-delivery-systems/