Northern Belle Train Pack R3697

Ouroborus

The RRP on the R3697 is £240, for which you get three coaches and a loco.   R4898 gets you three  similar coaches in a pack for £105.  The £135 difference would seem to be for the loco, 57601 Windsor Castle.   

Now i'm no expert on 57's, but i thought that 601 was quite a bit different in appearance to its Class 47 predecessor and also that the 57 is not a loco in the Hornby range.    I guess this could be a mistake and they are intending on the loco being a 47 in the named Northern Belle livery, but it would be a hell of a typo.  £135 seems a lot for a model which looks very different to the loco on which its based (i'm aware of the 66 shortcomings), or are Hornby bringing out a new model?

• RMweb Premium

That’s just Hornbys price. Hattons have the pack with the loco for £180. That puts the loco at £75 which would be about right. It’s a railroad spec model. And yes they are incorrectly portraying 57601 using a class 47, much the same as they used a Castle for 5972 in its Hogwarts livery. Rails, Kernow, and Colletts also have it listed for £180.00. 

Edited by Hilux5972
Correction

• RMweb Premium

I think I recall this being one of the packs that also had a price adjustment at some point by Hornby too, as Rails, Kernow and Colletts all have it listed as an RRP of £200 with a 10% discount to £180.

• Thanks 1

• 6 months later...

The Northern Belle train pack is now in stock.

Unfortunately, as some had suggested Hornby have used the awful ex-airfix mk2d tooling for this pack. Why Hornby have done this I have no idea. They should have used their mk2e tooling so that it matches the coach pack, R4898. The real mk2d FO is identical to the mk2e FO with their toilet windows both at the one side. Also one of the coaches, Chatsworth, should be a mk2e anyway!