How to build a station platform?

I feel a bit silly asking this. I did try searching but I think the terms “building” and “platform” are a bit too generic for a railway forum....

I’ve laid the up and down tracks in what is going to be the station area. I’m now thinking about how to build the platforms alongside (side platforms, not island). There is a shallow curve through the station, so one platform face will be convex and the other concave. May I ask for some advice on the following points please?

1. What method of construction? I suspect there are as many answers to that as there are forum members. If it helps I am a confident woodworker, but I don’t know how to address the scenic facade. I intend for the platform faces to be brick. 

2. How do I figure out the distance from the running line without either leaving a scale 5 foot gap or fouling the loading gauge? (especially given the end and centre throw of stock on the curve). I suspect the answer is to gauge it using the actual stock in question?

3. I need to lay a siding road on the outside of one of the platforms. Is it best to lay the siding first, and gauge the platform (now an island, in a sense) to suit? Or build the platform, and lay the siding to suit?

If it’s relevant, the scale is OO and the era is 1920s/30s (but naturally the station may exhibit architectural details from before then, eg. platform faces without an undercut). 

Many thanks in advance. 

• RMweb Premium

One way of marking out the platform edges is to take a long bogie coach and hold a pencil against the side at its centre, vertical so it draws on the baseboard as you roll the carriage along. This will mark the clearance for the convex curve.

Repeat with the pencil at one end of the carriage side to mark the concave curve. Repeat with a locomotive which may have a large overhand at the front end, or over-wide cylinders.

How they do it in Germany:

Fasanenpark Rebuilding

Fasanenpark Rebuilding

Fasanenpark Rebuilding