Gary goes Midland - A Charity Project

• RMweb Gold

Hi All,

As I'm sure a lot of people know (and even more don't!!) for the past year or so I have been running a railway modelling YouTube channel, with both pre-recorded videos and weekly livestreams. This has been going rather well, and the channel has been growing at a decent pace.

One of the reasons I setup the channel was I kept having discussions with people who though things were too difficult, or they were scared to try them, and I wanted to show first hand that these things aren't as scary as people sometimes think, and doing it live meant I could also take questions to help people.

On the theme of helping people I have been working behind the scenes for a couple of months, building up a small collection, and talking to a charity that will remain nameless at this point. I will say that it is a charity close to my heart. With the intention of helping them out, and this is were "Gary Goes Midland" comes from.

This is going to run in as many places as I can with an ongoing series looking at building stock, as per my other channel projects, however this one will differentiate in that it will culminate with a 24 hour long livestream in which we will attempt to construct a layout from scratch! All with the intention of raising money for this charity. Provided I can meet a minimum amount I will also be selling the layout and stock at the end of the project with 100% of the proceeds going to the charity (however I don't want to plough £1500 into this and only raise £100 for them).

At the moment I have some locos, and a bare baseboard, with not a lot else, I need a lot more stock, and a track plan still (and some track for that matter!)