Issues in Rail for a Final Year Product Design project

MatthewEWS

Hi Everyone 

(mods please move if there is a better place for this topic)

I’m a Product Design student who has to complete a final year project. I have a real interest in the rail industry and would love to base my final year project around this.

Ideally I need a real life scenario and problem to work with therefore I was wondering if anyone could think of the largest issues in the railway sector right now which could be solved through a product, app, service, technology innovation etc. 

At this stage I’m just looking for ideas and am still a few months away from pitching this project. But any suggestions would be much appreciated. Whilst I am an enthusiast, I am by no means an expert on the ins and outs of the real railway, so would appreciate any insights.

Many thanks,

Matthew 

One of the regular complaints from passengers is the lack of information when disruption occurs. One reason for this is that when a serious incident occurs the on-train staff (ie Driver, Guard/Conductor if provided), who would normally broadcast what was happening via public address systems, are fully occupied in essential operational duties. Sometimes passengers find out what is going on from their mobile phones before anywhere else ! So how about a system that allows Control Centre staff to send messages direct to on-train Passenger Information Displays, some of which are now very sophisticated, for example on the Thameslink Class 700 trains ?

• Agree 1

1 hour ago, caradoc said: