Billy goes West(ern) - a Bank Holiday Inglenook

• RMweb Premium

Thought I’d share a very simple ‘non-project’ to show one way to have a Bank Holiday break that doesn’t impact the rest of the household.  Last summer I found an MDF offcut left by a previous resident in an outbuilding that just happened to be exactly the right size for a Billy bookcase shelf (fortunately for me as I’m not good at sawing straight lines).  I added a traditional 2” x 1” softwood frame to this piece and a second offcut to give a total length of 130cm (approx 4’3”).  It was then put to one side - I already have other projects on the go.

With progress on my layout projects paused (the home office is a shared space, particularly at the moment), Bank Holiday gave me a chance to put together a quick and simple unscenicked GWR Branch Line Terminal (BLT) Inglenook for a couple of hours - something it'd be easy to tidy away later.

A04A74EC-AEA1-4AD1-BF14-4E300ECB5B99.jpeg.5ab9db0ce72cbd430505de9d1125a3c0.jpeg

9DAF2455-C4FE-4CD3-A49C-1CAA1F9D9DB3.jpeg.4fd92a4dbf36570abf64358bdff2cfbe.jpeg

I actually had more space than a conventional Inglenook needed: I could fit a 5-5-3 layout into the space instead of 5-3-3, and with a headshunt for tank loco + 4 wagons (not 3).  That’s right: this layout is - in that sense - a bit too big!

A tender engine would fit into the headshunt with 3 wagons.  One of the points is across the baseboard joint, which wouldn’t work if I wanted to scenic the bookshelf part for display.  The layout would easily fit onto a desk, but as I’ve not attached buffer stops, the carpet felt safer, so I simply placed it on the floow!