Warehouse Buildings for sidings / unloading from box vans

beingamonkey

In my spare time during this lockdown, I've decided to embark on a small layout with the few bit's and pieces I have lying around, it will be a small shunting yard, and i'd like to create some low relieve tall buildings to give the layout height.

I have seen these two kits from Scale Scene which I aesthetically like, more so the corrugated clad building (I know the second is for China Clay and as such not suitable for box vans etc, but I have used it more to illustrate the aesthetic and the canopy).

image.png.cee37d4bbb6d4001302b03d028b2861e.png

It may be possible with the brick warehouse kit to make it 4 stories high, I'm an architect and good with photoshop skills so could easily extend this, would a larger canopy, in corrugate steel be odd?

image.png.d733abae56febd9b727b7334c8fb5e16.png

I was wondering if there were any warehouses that anyone knows exist that are similar to these for distribution and would be taller 4 or 5 stories high etc? I'm looking to build a shunting yard that might have 2 or three of these.

If possible i'd like to base these on real examples, so if anyone has links to photos or examples that would be incredibly helpful.

Thanks

Nic

• 5 months later...

I've been doing further research and stumbled upon this building, which I feel is like the aesthetic I would like this building to look like, it is Chorley Goods Depot, I can't seem to find any further images of this, so if anyone knows or has any more information that would be great.

image.png.b9ec8199961056a3c94f22356ad619c3.png

• Like 1

On 16/04/2020 at 09:21, beingamonkey said:

image.png.cee37d4bbb6d4001302b03d028b2861e.png

It may be possible with the brick warehouse kit to make it 4 stories high, I'm an architect and good with photoshop skills so could easily extend this, would a larger canopy, in corrugate steel be odd?

Hi Nic