Starlingford

Black Marlin

Hello chaps and chapesses

My name's Gavin. I'm a PhD student at Aberdeen Uni, and I'm also an 00-gauge modeller. I've been building a 16' x 10' roundy-roundy layout called Starlingford in my parents' loft for the last few years. Progress is slow, because I'm from Northern Ireland and my parents live there still, so I only get to model when I'm home, which isn't as frequent as I'd like.

The model itself is partially completed, but there are still lots of jobs (some quite major) to do, and the baseboard has just grown further with the addition of a fiddleyard. I'm afraid - and here I wish to hide from the wrath of modellers and enthusiasts far more expert than I - that Starlingford conforms to no particular region or period, and I run trains from whenever or wherever happens to amuse me at the time (in my defence, I don't run wildly different things simultaneously!). The main station, whose nameboards are printed but not yet applied, is called 'Perdido Street', after one of my favourite books. I have a definite preference for the LNER (and would be very interested to learn where I could get replacement transfers to renumber and rebrand a WD 2-8-0 into an O7), so I think the first images I post should feature that fine company...

IMG_0371.jpg

IMG_0350.jpg

IMG_0277.jpg

IMG_0285.jpg

IMG_0217.jpg

IMG_0138.jpg

018.jpg

IMG_0040.jpg

IMG_0085.jpg

IMG_0032.jpg

Regards,

Gavin

Thanks, folks, for the welcome!

This is a very rough trackplan (that doesn't incorporate the new fiddleyard, which comes off the bottommost right-hand corner):

ExtremelyRoughTrackplan-1.jpg

Apologies for the poor quality of the drawing, but Xtracad is something of a closed book to me...

Oh, and here are some more pictures lest you think I am partisan about the LNER:

JintyinClonsallagh.jpg

AlbertHallCropped.jpg

43xxPassengerTrain6.jpg

AusterityQuayside1.jpg

N2DriftingThrough.jpg

T91.jpg

Cheers,

Gavin