Tortoise wiring conundrum.

Jeepy

Hello,

I've tried doing a search on the forum but didn't find anything mentioning my particular puzzle so please accept my apologies if this has been presented before! Even a pointer or link to a particular thread may help a great deal.

Anyway, I am in the process of doing test runs with a Hornby peckett 0-4-0 to make sure my unifrogs are working ok because that's the loco that would be the most likely to show if the frogs are dead or alive I should think!

My set up is OO gauge Peco code 75 bullhead unifrog turnouts utilising tortoise machines wired through a home made control panel with a conventional DC power supply with DPDT ON-ON switches but the track power is DCC, in my estimation this shouldn't be having any effect on this particular problem I wouldn't have thought but I am a bit of a newbie so you never know! 

The Peckett is finding all the frogs dead and stalling but the frogs should be alive as far as I am concerned, i could be missing something here which i'm hoping someone might be able to shed a bit of light on please?

The turnout motors are working fine and I have run a wire from the frog to terminal 4 on the tortoise which I think should be the common terminal for one of the two internal auxiliary switches on the tortoise according to the diagram on the instruction sheet but as I said the frog still seems to be dead! So what i'm asking is have I done the right thing or am I missing something out here please? Thanks ever so much! 

Best wishes,

Jim.

P.S. I've just thought of something, should there be a track power supply to the tortoise to enable the internal auxiliary switch to operate? :dontknow:

Edited by Jeepy
Afterthought.

• RMweb Gold

You say you have a wire going from terminal 4 to the frog, but don't mention if you have terminals 2+3 connected to the rails to feed the switch, or is that what you had realised with your afterthought?

Andi

• Agree 1
  • Friendly/supportive 1