Cost to 3D print a 4mm Mk1 coach

Hi

I am wondering how much it would approximately cost (in terms of raw materials) to 3D print a 4mm scale model of a coach - floor, sides, ends and roof - similar to a Mk1 coach?  The print would need to be as smooth as possible, with minimum detail (e.g. a couple of doors per side, mounting points for bogies in the floor).  All other details - cable connectors, under frame details, roof vent, bogies etc - are to be separately printed or available commercially elsewhere.  A "blank canvas" vehicle, if you will...

Appreciate that any suggestions will be approximate depending upon material chosen.  This is to aid a complete novice - me! - to work out if this is a route worth pursuing for an ongoing project.

Many thanks in advance for any help, information or advice given.

Steve S

first off there are several methods of 3D printing, FDM, SLA, DLP, ect. All have different results and in the hobby level considerably different costs. FDM is probably the oldest system where a line of plastic is extruded and placed onto a bed in specific places to make the product. It is inherantly slow and leaves a visible array of lines that will need considerable work to be smooth. SLA is probably just as slow as FDM, as a laser is fired into a medium and a spot is cured each time eventually making a product. DLP is usually the faster 3D printing process as it exposes a layer of resin the size of the screen in one go. FDM machines are relatively cheap, SLA machines tend to be costly, and DLP is a bit more expensive than FDM increasing in price with screen size.

Raw material costs are very low but in each method of printing there is a certain amount of post printing work to be done. It is time consuming to 3D print, and on a commercial basis not very efficient.