Newbie layout design - introducing Langholme

Robman75

Hello, 

I’m brand new to the hobby, not much of a chippy or sparky, but have always enjoyed trains. I was born in Doncaster and loved to peer down on the station’s goings on front the North Bridge. 

I have put together a layout design, and in my own typical fashion, I have undoubtedly bitten off more than I can chew. I want a main line, a freight/branch line and a TMD. I want to create a Doncaster-esque station and have the lines double loop so there is a decent enough run between station passes on a continuous loop. The challenge is as the space available, the likely challenge in constructing the inclines to co-exist happily and still be able to be complimented with some scenery model work. I’d like to get a fiddle yard in somewhere - but I’ve not tackled that requirement yet, nor do I have the down main line able to access the TMD yet...

Anyway  - that’s it in a nutshell. Plan attached so far. Constructive feedback welcome and appreciated.

Robin

E169303F-7BD7-4DE1-BE63-C3E71C42824C.png

E6EBF4B6-C1BC-45F7-8082-9B3D409DEDE7.jpeg

FE3F820E-5CF2-4DFB-87F1-793C444CE61D.jpeg

Hi Robin 

Welcome to RMweb. 

There is nothing wrong with being ambitious, but many on this site will say start with something simple to get something done. 

The plan you have drawn does allow you to build in different stages, and getting things working on one area before working on another. For example you could start with the main line, then add the branch and the freight line, and finish with the depot. 

Some thoughts on the track plan. 

For the main line, you could put a fiddle yard under the main station. There are ohers on RMweb who have devised hinged upper tracks to allow access or you could put the point work outside the main station under some scenery for easier access and less wordworking!.