Looking to switch to handbuilt track...?

petejones

As I've been revising my track plan based on further research findings, I'm getting frustrated with the limitations of Peco turnouts (Code 75). So I'm thinking about switching to C&L Finescale and using Templot to draw up a more accurate track diagram. This is my first attempt at OO gauge (I have some previous experience in N Gauge), so was wondering whether it is a good idea to start making my own track? I do want to concentrate on one layout, even if when I get things wrong from time to time (afterall, they can be put right!), rather than do a basic layout first. I can test techniques on a small plank if need be.

Cheers

Pete

• Like 1

• RMweb Premium

I would dive right in, if you have built N gauge track, then you should have no problems with 00. I would recommend that you have a play with Templot, as it's a steep learning curve, but once mastered, it's an invaluable tool. Have a look on the Templot forum for guidance and advice.

• Agree 1
  • Thanks 1

Hi,

take the plunge, you won't regret it!  I used to build my own track in N, now I've gone to EM.  Get a good set of gauges, a decent soldering iron and have a go!  There's lots of advice on here to help you on your way.  Hardest job is deciding which technique to go for:  fully soldered construction with pcb sleepers, wood and rivet, plastic chairs on timber, commercial track bases.  As you've got a small plank to try things on have a go with them all and settle on one that suits you and what you are looking for.  For the record I'm using the old tried and tested technique of pcb sleepers for every third or fourth sleeper with the rail soldered to these and wood dummy sleepers for the rest.  Definitely old school but it looks good with a bit of care and it works for me!

Roja

• Thanks 1

• RMweb Gold