International N Gauge Show 2020 - Sale of Visitor List

cctransuk

I have, for the second time, received an e-mail inviting me to purchase the visitor list for the above event; the latest e-mail is below :-

Sent: 21 September 2020 08:43
To: cctrans@hotmail.com <cctrans@hotmail.com>
Subject: International N Gauge Show 2020 Visitors Info List

Hello,

Hope you and your family is doing well and safe.

I am just following up to see if you are interested in acquiring the Attendees/Visitors  list of,

International N Gauge Show

12 - 13 Sep 2020

Warwickshire Exhibition Centre, Warwick, UK

Counts =4,885

Each record of the list contains Contact Name, Email Address, Phone No, Title, Company Name, URL/Website, City, Country, Zip code.

Let me know your thoughts so that we can send you the cost and additional information.

Best Regards,

Liam Jones

I am no expert on such matters, but I would have thought that the information on offer comes within the scope of the Data Protection Act, and that its sale without the consent of all listed parties would be illegal. Are there any legal professionals amongst us that can comment?

John Isherwood.

• RMweb Premium

Sounds like a scam, but yes, it would be somewhat dodgy - attendees would have needed to have opted in to have your data shared, which is unlikely on that scale.

Edit: on the cancellation point I read it as being those who pre-bought tickets, as it didn't go ahead, but again the number is unlikely.

A quick Google suggests that "visitorsdata.com" doesn't exist, and this is a common scam. So yeah... ignore that.

Edited by njee20

I agree that if such information was being provided then I'd see it as a breach of the General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR), but I note that the domain name of the sender isn't an active website, but the domain name is registered to a company (G C V PVT LTD) in Karnataka, India.  Presumably it's just a scam designed to try and get you to part with some money to access some dubious data.