Johnson Street IEMD: General update - 9th October 2020

Johnson Street IEMD

Johnson Street IEMD - General update - 9th October 2020

A while ago a modelling acquaintance suggested i do my blog updates through the layout topics area on here, and still as a relative newbie, I didnt really understand what he meant or how to go about it - and didnt want to seem silly for quering this further, i left it, thanked him for his suggestion and carried on as I had been, now, for some reason this evening, i thought i'd go explore and see if i couldnt figure how to actually do this, so if it doesnt quite work out, then thank you to my fellow modeller for tickling my creative juices into doing this now, albeit some months later. 

Here and now as of early October, there is no real update on the layout itself but i may tomorrow get to see someone who may hold the key to getting the final stages of it complete. 

Layout

The layout aspect of the project as it stands is awaiting some techy end solutions as well as a bit of softly softly detailing bits before its ready to be handed back to me, 

Infrastructure

A close friend of the local model shop is in the process of making up some ''nbrass'' portals which will cover sections of multitrack works across the main shed and holding sidings on the layout - when these are complete, these are going to be wired up to the layout along with the PECO single track masts for the applicable single track sections. I have been looking on here for updates regarding PECO's catenary updates but there appears to be no such link, which seems really strange, given that their offering in the OLE market is on a par/superior to Dapol, depending on one's opinion, i think it would be fair to say, i have seen the Dapol gantries and whilst i dont consider myself to be an expert on the subject of durability, i think the PECO masts appear far more durable and have opted to feature them on my forthcoming layout.

Traction