Heljan Park Royal Railbus

Riccarton Junction

Got myself a used (but mint i.e. never out of the box) Park Royal - it's the one with the Kilmarnock/Dalmellington destination plates. It looks fantastic but I am extremely nervous about getting the body off to plug in the chip. The actual plugging in off the 21 pin decoder looks easy, it's getting the body off which is bringing me out in a cold sweat - the unit looks so delicate. The instructions in the box say I have to remove the handrails on the door as these connect to the body - that's fine. Problem is the instructions give no clue whatsoever as to how you actually get the body apart - one picture they are showing you removing the handrails, the next the body is off!

I can't see any screws anywhere so I'm assuming it's either just held on by gravity or there are small clips. Either way could someone perhaps explain to me (an absolute novice i.e. never taken a train apart before) how, in idiot proof steps, I get the body off?

Cheers,

PaulC.

Might help but the steps and gubbins had already been removed so the first part of your question remains unanswered for now!  I found this when I was looking at what I will need to do when I get round to chipping my Park Royal.  Looks a bit of a faff to be honest.

• Like 1
  • Informative/Useful 1

• RMweb Gold

Why do people try to make helpful videos - as this undoubtedly is - while holding the camera, which is presumably a phone, in the other hand? 

Use of a camera on a small tripod - and there are adapters that mean you can mount a phone securely on a tripod - would enable use of both hands and a much more dextrous performance of these delicate tasks. 

• Like 1
  • Agree 2