Nu-Cast J21, looking for guidance on Motor/gearbox selection, and tips on building.

Morning All, 

I have a J21 Nu-cast kit. I've never built a loco kit before, but I have designed and built a number of Locos with my 3D printed shells. 

The kit I have is as dispatched from Nu-cast, so no wheels, motor gearbox etc.

I'm looking for advice on the correct brand and model of motor gearbox, as well as choice of wheels, I've used Alan Gibson in the past, so that was my first thought on it. 

Any advice on construction/assembly of this particular kit would be most appreciated. 

Thanks, Paul. 

Hi Paul

Nucast kits, whilst quite old, can make up into quite nice models. The J21 is a good example of this.

However, the chassis supplied with the kit will probably be a whitemetal block. I don't think that it was ever sold with brass frames? It was designed to take an XO4/Romford Bulldog type motor, with 40:1 Romford gears. When it came out, Romford (now Markits) wheels were pretty much the 'go to' wheels for the constructor, but these days, as you say, Gibson wheels are available.

The motor tended to protrude into the cab as well, which back then was accepted by many, but these days, as you know, people try to avoid this.

I've actually got a J21 kit in my roundtuit pile; my plan was/is to obtain some Gibson frames and use a High Level gearbox with a Mitsumi motor. I'll probably use Gibson wheels myself too.

Will follow your progress with interest. Good luck.

Mark

• Thanks 1

Paul

Wheels,

If you can get on with Gibson wheels then go ahead and use them, I think they look better than Romford wheels but so much harder to quarter

Gear box

No brainer High Level, below links to both the website and gearbox planner (I am assuming you have the brass frames which many of the later models seemed to have)

http://www.highlevelkits.co.uk/   http://www.highlevelkits.co.uk/gearboxplanningpage.html