Oliver Springs Industrial Spur - BNSF Switching Layout

Liam_uk

Evening all,

Just wanted to start sharing my American outline layout.

After looking at N Scale and Then trying to fit a "roundy" HO in the space available I decided the best option would be to go for an Industrial Spur. 

1469117059_OliverSpringsTrackPlan.jpg.216a02e84e13d12b83177d1d46e7408d.jpg

As you can see from the track plan the layout will come from the staging area into the scenic section, through a few industries to the small exchange/sorting yard.

The layout will then continue round the corner down to the end with a run round at the end. 

I only know a few industries which I would like to include (after seeing them on Youtube videos and other layouts). 

Any help, advise or ideas would be gratefully received.

As Ive said before I am still relatively new to the American "scene" and mainly like the operation side of the railroad, so dont know if Ive made mistakes or got things wrong. 

Today I have laid my first tracks on the layout. I am starting with the yard and working outwards.

IMG_20210105_142936.jpg.91b780ae7a45d0c9883011e7f3a79572.jpgIMG_20210105_145051.jpg.df687141167920066e1aabd50b755eb8.jpgIMG_20210105_161421.jpg.edf22320e166b6a954af23d175707b2b.jpg

It is also the first time I have used Cork underlay, cant say I am impressed, but seeing as the railroads seem to be deeply ballasted I thought it would be necessary to create the correct ballast shoulders.

Edited by Liam_uk
Adding tags
  • Like 6

15 hours ago, Liam_uk said:

It is also the first time I have used Cork underlay, cant say I am impressed, but seeing as the railroads seem to be deeply ballasted I thought it would be necessary to create the correct ballast shoulders.

Main lines are deeply ballasted, but not so  much yards and spurs. I bet most of us modelling US outline Industrial layouts on here don't bother with underlay at all.

Anyway, welcome to US Outline!! :good: