Brunel Charlbury station drawings/ Brunel broad gauge goods shed

Jason Pape

I’m searching for plans of Charlbury station on the Oxford to Paddington line of the GWR as its a gorgeous Italianate station and a plan for a typical broad gauge goods shed too. I’m just starting out in making my first layout so any help will be appreciated. 

• RMweb Premium

Are you confusing Culham which is a brick Brunel Italianate structure between Didcot and Oxford, with Charlbury which is a simpler, but still magnificent, timber structure on the Oxford to Worcester line?

Paul Karau's book on the Henley Branch (Wild Swan) has drawings of the original station buildings and goods shed at Twyford which were similar in style to Culham and might be useable.

7 hours ago, Mike_Walker said:

Are you confusing Culham which is a brick Brunel Italianate structure between Didcot and Oxford, with Charlbury which is a simpler, but still magnificent, timber structure on the Oxford to Worcester line?

Paul Karau's book on the Henley Branch (Wild Swan) has drawings of the original station buildings and goods shed at Twyford which were similar in style to Culham and might be useable.

They are both Brunel stations but the OP is right Charlbury is the Italianate design. Culham is not. The Culham design is English, Elizabethan. Charlbury is unusual in being the Italianate design but in wood rather than brick or stone. Both buildings are unique survivors of their kind but there are Italianate survivors in brick - Mortimer and, I believe Chard, though Chard no longer in railway use. (CJL)

Edited by dibber25
The spelling Gestapo insisted on changing Culham to Fulham!