Which O gauge track.

Sweet pea

• RMweb Gold

Afternoon im new to O gauge modelling and I'm planning to build a single line plank. Can I ask what track should I be aiming to use and can you buy wired rail joiners as I'm no good at soldering.

Any advice will be fantastic.

Edited by Wrenn

• Sweet pea changed the title to Which O gauge track.
  • RMweb Premium

I'd stick with Peco if only because it is probably easier to get hold of from a local shop in small quantities.

I'm not aware of ready wired ones that fit code 124/5 rail. I believe you can get them for code 100 rail so you might be able to see if they'll fit with a bit of encouragement.

Agree with Ray about track.  Peco is fairly widely available while C&L is exclusive.  C&L is considered to have a more accurate rail profile than Peco (which I have seen described as a sort of flat bottom).  You can use code 100 rail joiners for Peco but they are a more difficult fit for C&L.

The problem with using rail joiners for conducting electricity is they are inefficient.  Over time there is oxidation, loosening and paint which increase the resistance.  The very best thing is to solder dropper wires to the rails.  I do it to the rail bottom to hide the wire.

John

Edited by brossard
  • Agree 1

Peco do wired fishplates which are suitable for code 124 rail.IIRC is says so on the pack.I'm using them where I can,will have to solder the rest.Bound to be the most inaccessible ones knowing my luck!

atb

Phil 

Make your life easy - learn to solder!

you need a mains powered soldering iron of sufficient size for the job, and a reel of solder, I would recommend buying thin multi core leaded solder if you can find it, should not be difficult.  

If you’re doing electrical stuff, you should not need or use extra flux.  The keys to success are clean job, clean iron, enough solder and plenty of heat.  In quick, out quick, job done.