Stephen Harris 2mm 16 T Mineral build

Ian Smeeton

• RMweb Premium

I have no previous experience of building etched wagon kits. 

I have seen these 16T Minerals in the small suppliers section of the 2mm Association Website, and lusted after them for some time.

Others have mentioned this range of kits, and commented on how easy they are to build. 

So what could possibly go wrong?

Nothing yet, but there is time....

IMG_20201213_130249.jpg.fea29fd54e7b29f30567acba2efa7d8f.jpg

The etch in the flat.

At about £6.50 each, they do seem good value, but after adding wheels and buffers of choice, the total comes out at about £10 each.

Still good value compared to RRP RTR, and you have something that is seriously yours.

The plan is to build about 20 of these in total, each completed identically, as they are to represent a train of newly delivered ex works consecutively numbered wagons, with a decrepit Brake Van or two, and a Caley 0-6-0 tank.

image.png.6644eea79e3af3ea7dc7c81112d0d1ed.png

From Graces Guide https://www.gracesguide.co.uk/File:Im19540205RG-Pressed.jpg#filelinks

image.png.d5a9684114f37607079211699ce428d8.png

A rather distorted view of the Paisley & Barrhead District Railway, with a delivery train waiting for the passenger to pass by.

8 Pages of A5 instructions, including 4 pages of photos give a fairly concise description of the method. Well written, and easy to follow, however, the choice of buffers, wheels, vac cylinders (if required) is left up to the customer, and although suggested part numbers are given for wheels, bearings and vac cylinders, no suggestion was given for buffers.

A quick query in the 'Any Questioned Answered' thread gave me the correct info, but only after I had placed my order with Shop 2 at the 2mm Assoc.

Patience is a virtue, and according to my better half, I am lacking in virtues!

The parts ARE Small.