Split Chassis?

Hi All,

I have an old Fleischmann BR95 which I bought second hand on ebay ages ago. It was sold as DC which it works on just fine, but to my surprise I discovered it had a DCC decoder hard wired into it! Unfortunately the chip appears to be dead. 

I'd like to sound fit this for DCC operation, but the chap who sells the chips thinks it may be a split chassis and was concerned it may damage the chip. As I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination I'm not sure if it is or not. I already own a split chassis loco, but it looks nothing like this inside. I've attached a couple of pics. Any thoughts? 

Cheers,

Mark

20200414_202810.jpg.4ac25adb5065f583a2e6317ed4005bcb.jpg161674958_20200414_2028001.jpg.b939cd1f1e148d6ca472cb15b1c62cb6.jpg

Hi Mark,

it is not a split chassis but a live chassis means the whole chassis is electrically connected to one side of the track.

Having any parts (Seuthe smoke generator or lighting) connected to the chassis might cause problems.

The motor contacts always MUST be insulated from the chassis.

• Agree 2

I've never heard of Live Chassis before. I looked them up and, sure enough, it is one. All the wipers are on one side like you said, although it's interesting to see how they've wired in the old decoder.

I have a smoke generator and lights which are connected to the chassis and then the white wire on the decoder, which as you said could cause a bit of a headache. I've bought a cheap decoder to replace the old one, so if it blows I won't be too out of pocket! Every day is a school day.

Wish me luck :D

Live chassis was the most common way to pick up in the DC days- at least all the Triang, Hornby and Wrenn stuff did. I have also a number of BEMO Swiss outline locos that do as well. Not a lot more difficult than installing in a isolated chassis as long as you can isolate the motor entirely and watch out for short circuits against the chassis.