Furzebrook Oil Tankers - BR period mid1970s to 1990s

Hi, I'm new to using RM web so bear with me. I hope I've got the right section for my question. Does anyone know for sure if the oil tanker trains which used to run on this route were bogie Oil wagons, which type/size they were and if they were BP or other? I seem to recall them being large grey tankers on bogies but not certain. I model in 00gauge using mostly Bachmann and want to find the closest to what ran on this route.

Cheers

• RMweb Gold

I don't know the answer to your question, but I think you will get a more consistent answer if you only post it in one forum. It might be best to get the mods to combine the two posts into one.

• RMweb Gold

It would take me ages to find the requisite slides, however, from memory they were at one time four wheelers, cream with red, and the bogie tankers were a later update. Capstan haulage at the Furzebroke end. LPG not oil, IIRC the oil became a piped flow. (Edit - in fact oil first then LPG - see a later post).

update - see links - 4 wheelers - from Flickr not my photo

LPG from Dorset

And website with the bogie versions. http://www.malcolm-smith.com/railways/working/sector/bulk/oil/furzebrook.html

Edited by john new
Correction re the LPG.
  • Like 1

Thanks guys. It's my first post and didn't realise which was the best category to use and subsequently realised it was probably better in the 'Modelling Questions' in the end. Anyway, John New, that's really useful thank you. Looks like there were BP and ESSO bogie tankers in the rakes later then which is what I'd like to replicate to some extent. 

Edited by Parailmodeller
mistake
  • Thanks 1

It depends what period. earlier it was oil in bogie tanks, later gas in 4 wheelers, you will need to look for trains in the period you are interested in. 

John Dedman was active in the area, he has a number of photos in his albums

https://www.flickr.com/photos/johndedman/26156814785/in/album-72157629766666828/