Soldering help

IMG_20210425_180818.jpg.b8c14a5797d70f1f48827c6170c03ebf.jpg

Hi, I bought a new iron not long ago and I just got around to trying it out. I'm a beginner to building brass kits. But I had a wagon which I figured was simply enough to try it out on. First joint here using 145° solder with flux and my iron set at 345°. It produced almost an immediate "blob joint" and would not spread. I set the temperature around 100 degrees higher and was able to get it to flow a bit more which produced what you see in the picture. It's very messy and I shouldn't have had to use that much solder. So the question is: how do I get it to flow? What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,

Matti

Edited by Matti8

• RMweb Gold

Cleanliness is everything, so I tend to brush a decent amount of flux along the joint.

In the case of the above I would initially place 3 blobs of solder (2 ends and middle) so that the heat is averaged out, then when tacked hit them with the iron to make them flow. I'd probably have the iron set at 370-390.

• Like 1

• RMweb Gold

That looks like a lot of brass, and the brass will draw heat away from the soldering iron tip.

So, what size tip are you using? A larger tip will hold more heat, and an iron with a higher wattage rating will recover its temperature quicker.

The brass looks shiny, but have you handled it? Any grease / dirt / oil will prevent the solder flowing. Ideally a fibreglass burnishing pen can be used to clean the surface, but take care if any splinters of fibreglass get into your fingers.

You may also need a liquid flux, some can be very corrosive and need to be washed after use, I use IPA with an old toothbrush, even when using a “non-clean” type flux.

Ideally the solder should just be a river of silver which flows along the seam.

Edited by Tim123
Typo
  • Like 1
  • Agree 1

16 minutes ago, Tim123 said:

That looks like a lot of brass, and the brass will draw heat away from the soldering iron tip.