Railway book publishers

RichieB

I’ve nearly finished my railway book, and I’m now thinking about publishing. I could go the self publishing route or choose one of the 20 or so transport publishers operating in the UK. Has anyone had any experience of publishing their own book, which route did you take, and any interesting experiences with any particular publishers.

• Like 1

I have some experience of having a book published for me and doing my own publishing.

First up was my I.C.I. Hopper book with the now defunct Cheona Publications, I was very much part of the publishing helping the late Peter Midwinter with typesetting the text, captions and scanning in original photos and slides and tweaking them in Photoshop. The only bit I didn't do was the compiling of the Quark Express output files as Peter did that and took the completed CD disc down to the local printers we were using in North Wales. A few alterations from the first proof including changing some photos from colour to mono helped to bring the price down and had no choice in a way to do it. For this I did receive some free copies but most others I brought at discount if I needed more.

Second publication I did was a self produced one to commemorate two railway anniversaries at Hazel Grove near Stockport where I am from. For this one I did all of the typesetting and produced the output disc, and at the time I was able to utilise the local authority print shop who kindly did the final prep and proof copy to make it print ready. They obtained some quotes for printing costs for 300 copies and I went with the one they recommended, that wasn't the cheapest or most expensive but I was very pleased indeed with the final booklet they printed and bound. Being my own booklet there was little in way of royalties and still have a few copies of the booklet left all these years later. Ian Allan brought and sold a good 100 or so copies via the now closed Manchester store.