I've made a decent amount of progress so far on my model railway, dubbed "Holbrooke and Lock", I thought a layout topic wouldn't be a bad idea, so here we are!

This is the track plan for the new layout, I've had a go at signalling it, but I'm no expert! The idea is to have small Great Western branchline trains snake their way through autumn countryside, flanked by a canal for half its course before crossing over it and terminating at Holbrooke and Lock station...

1937705956_Holbrookesignalled.jpg.8ae299f4bbdb715273835479f341b5ac.jpg

Over the past couple of years I've been slowly constructing various items of 4mm 00 rolling stock, just things to my liking, tending to be of Great Western outline and preserved on the Severn Valley Railway, but until now, I haven't had a layout of my own to run them on. So a few months ago a shuffling around of bedrooms presented an opportunity to construct an L shape end to end layout around 12 feet x 12 feet in dimension, and so I got to work preparing the space to take a layout and began construction. Of course the setting is to be GWR, but era is a bit tricky, my stock being a right mix. As most of it is preserved on the SVR, I could go that route, a preservation setting perhaps? But I've always wanted to model an Edwardian layout, my favourite time of the railways. I'm not sure yet, I'm just going to start building and see where my mind takes me.