Dan Y Graig

Earl Bathurst

Hi

Im new to building a layout and im looking to build a small Western/LMR region layout 5ft x 2ft scenic section and a fiddle yard not sure what type of fiddle yard yet. I have included a drawing of what im looking to include which is a small station for about an engine and 2 coaches maybe 3 coaches, goods shed and sidings and maybe a small rail served coal yard, was woundering if anyone can see any problems or give any suggestions, any advice or different track diagrams or if anyone can see limitations from operating the layout help would be much appriciated.

Sorry for the drawing it is not the best.

Thanks

Scott

post-267-047052800 1289945537_thumb.jpg

• RMweb Premium

Having 3 sidings in the goods yard is going to make some of these very short especially if this is in OO. To get over this I would suggest having the point at which the goods line comes off the main line off scene.

Hi Scott

I agree with Kris.

You have fallen for the age old issue of drawing points shorter than they are possible as a 45' angle off a straight line.

The best thing to do when planning a layout in a small space is to use a printed point template or use one of the free software packages. You soon come to realise that a run of 3 points takes up much more space than first imagined.

Hi Scott,

Yes, it's easy to underestimate the length of points,

and you must remember to add clearance for uncoupling wagons.

This adds up, especially when you're using several points, and are short on space.

You could always have one less siding, or use a 3-way point?

3-ways are a bit harder to wire up, but they can save a lot of space!

Also, I think you've got a lot happening in a small area.

My advice is, don't be tempted to squeeze to much in.

Do I take it that you've got the station on a higher level,

than the goods yard?

This can help make a small area appear larger,

as split-levels tend to fool the eye, and make an area look bigger.