Moorgate - The Widened Lines

Fay Singpoint

Hi Everyone,

Although I have been actively involved in our groups Scale 7 layout for the past 6 odd years I have never built any sort of layout myself. As this is about to change I thought I would start a thread in order to share my progress with you as I have completed enough research in order to start the design and build.

I hope you enjoy?

My layout is based on the Widened Lines between King's Cross and Moorgate. I chose this subject for the following reasons;

1. I have always found electric traction to be more interesting than steam

2. I started my career with London Transport

3. Layouts of the Underground are not that common (and I didn't want yet another GWR BLT)

4. With the exception of Clerkenwell Tunnel "most" of the route was in the open air (today is very different)

I have been researching the Widened Lines on and off for some 5 years and I have put together a comprehensive collection of material covering rolling stock, track layouts, signalling, operating and buildings.

The section being modelled is between Aldersgate to Moorgate in the late 1920's/early 1930's and the diagram below forms the basis for the model. The lines to the left beyond Aldersgate to Farringdon and to the right beyond Moorgate to Liverpool Street will be fiddle yards. The time period gives a wide range of rolling stock workings with Metropolitan Railway electric stock and LMS/LNER steam stock. Whitecross Cross Street Goods depot adds even more variety even though the freight workings were limited.

post-6371-0-06034400-1295805276_thumb.jpg

The photo below proves that not everything was underground. The view today is totally unrecognisable as the reverse curve between Aldersgate and Moorgate was moved on to a straight alignment to the left of the picture and then covered over as part of the Barbican development.

post-6371-0-35538400-1295805565_thumb.jpg