Undecided Aggregates

halfwit

I'm using the 2011 challenge as a kick up the rear to build a micro-layout. I've never built a layout before, I tend to build locos and stock only, although I have owned a couple of second hand layouts so this is going to be an interesting experience.

Before coming up with a design I had a think about what stock I have available and how I could use it to best effect, after all there's no point in me designing something that would need new stock that I can't afford building for it. So it had to be based around small industrial shunters (particulary my Ruston 48DS) and 16T mineral wagons. I model in EM so at least the scale and gauge is sorted.

I want something that will be visually interesting on its own but with the addition of fiddleyards/sector plates etc. on each end to give some (limited) operational interest.

Also I want a scene to display my small locos to good effect.

So the idea for 'Undecided Aggregates' was born on a drive to Wales. The layout is based around an aggregates plant with wagons being loaded on one track and weighed on another.

I'd like the scene to give the impression of being part of a larger complex. I also like the idea of the stock being dwarfed by the surrounding buildings.

The name is temporary until I decide exactly what type of stone the plant deals with. Limestone is one possibility as is granite, perhaps for ballast.

Card mock-up stage.

A piece of cardboard was cut to size and a rough plan drawn on it, then stock placed on the card to see how it looks;

post-6749-0-12290000-1305911508_thumb.jpg

post-6749-0-85752700-1305911535_thumb.jpg

Offcuts of card were cut up into rough building shapes and placed on the plan;

post-6749-0-87687000-1305911551_thumb.jpg

post-6749-0-35654900-1305911563_thumb.jpg

post-6749-0-29504600-1305911575_thumb.jpg

post-6749-0-59696900-1305911586_thumb.jpg