Farish A1

BECMAYE

I have placed a video on YouTube showing the new Farsh A1 loco's 'Great Central' and North Eastern'. The video is entitled 'N Gauge Farish A1' under username BECMAYE2007 (sorry I don't know how to place a link to it). Both loco's are very smooth and powerful. The inside of the cabs have painted pipework. The late crest loco has a riveted tender and the early crest loco has a flush sided tender. They look like A1's to me but I'm not an expert. There are also the usual pipes, couplings and alternative bogies included. They do look quite majestic to me. Farish flew some models to the N Gauge show.

• RMweb Premium

My 'Great Central' arrived from Rochester today and is now on the rolling road. Highly recommended as it is; I won't try the shorter drawbar until my layout is up and running again. The finish is excellent and the big driving wheels a delight. Roll on the A2,A3 and A4!

Looks like there is a lot of extra space to add weight for those who want to loose the traction tyred wheels and get even more traction.

I do hope future A- models will make use of the coreless motor that is being promised for the WD and Std 5.

Cheers,

Alan

I've now received "North Eastern".

Overall a very nice model - though mine has a couple of niggles:

- one of the cab handrails was rattling loose in the box and had clearly fallen off in transit

- the rear pony truck wheels were stiff, and wouldn't rotate on their own - I found that the slot was tight and needed a little opening out to free them

- the loco sits very slightly on a slant when looking head on. It looks to me like this is caused by the cylinder block sitting slightly slant on the chassis, which in turn doesn't look milled entirely flat. Looking at snaps on Hattons and Rails they all look the same as this. Should be possible to rectify by levelling up with a little filing.

- the loco won't fit in the box with the draincocks fitted (!) - oversight there on Bachmann's part...