TPO and parcel trains

TomJ

Forgive me if I am asking a really daft question here. What is the difference (apart from the obvious) between the TPO and parcels trains. Did they run together as one train carrying mail and parcels or where they always seperate. Also did the TPOs only run as block trains of several or can I get away with just a few? Finally did the TPOs only link London with other big cities or did some small destinations get them?

I'm asking because the Farish TPO vans look rather nice and I'm looking for an excuse to run them on my 80s BR secondary line

I am not an expert (although I am sure some will be along shortly ;)) but I will do my best.

TPOs used to sort mail during the journey, a such it had special sorting vehicles for the post office staff (as modelled by Bachmann/Farish). Parcels trains had no sorting and simply had lots of enclosed vehicles for carrying parcels.

TPOs could run in small numbers and were sometimes mixed in with normal passenger workings. There is a rather nice shot somewhere of a maroon Warship hauling a single a Penzance - Liverpool train. The first vehicle is a TPO followed by a couple of Siphon G's and the rest of the train is blue-grey passenger coaches.

Hi

Small destinations did get them - good example of a short, easily modelled train is the Huddersfield - Whitehaven TPO which ran up until 1991. Usual formation was 1 TPO (same as the Farish model), 3-4 BGs

http://www.flickr.com/photos/26357805@N06/4196633783/

Interesting site here

http://www.allanyeo.co.uk/index.html

Cheers

Phil

• RMweb Gold