cactustrain

Woodmores Scrapyard

I recall travelling past Woodhams every fortnight on my way for a weekend leave from the RAF. The atmosphere even to a 17 year old, was quite upsetting. At the end of my posting there were many gaps in the sidings and I was never sure whether they had been cut up or taken for preservation. I do remember some had details chalked on them suggesting a reprieve but I was a novice spotter and unable to work out types or classes. This is a beautiful reminder of the sadness and I think on a par with a David Shepherd picture of Woodham's yard in three dimensions.

Excellent piece of work, well done.

Bl**dy h*ll, those look really good.... (mutter, mutter, mutter....)

• Like 3

I don't want to just repeat the last two posts but I can't leave this without saying that those detail shots are incredible - some of the best I've seen on RMWeb and that's saying something!

Very, very good! Atmospheric doesn't begin to describe it!

Edited by shortliner

I am a new guy here, and just getting to look at some of the great work you guys do ! This setting, all it's contents and the breath taking photography blew me away !. Most excellent.

Very impressed by this! It isn't easy to model scrap metal convincingly (I've tried and never really been satisfied with my efforts) but this is really well done.

Jim

• Like 1

Yes, got my vote too....... Disturbing subject, but A+ for execution.

Love the mood - especially the backdrop colours, really adds depth to the depression......

Edited by bundeena2230

It's utterly fantastic. Now please take this in the spirit in which it's intended - as I would like to think someone would mention in the 'How Realistic Are Your Models' photo thread - the ONLY conceivable detail that signifies it's a model, is the lack of vertical tension in the crane's jib rigging. If that was hanging straight down it would be the icing on the cake for me.

Excellent stuff, and incredibly well modelled. Breathtaking.