Beer, anyone?

Gwiwer

• RMweb Premium

Ladies and gentlemen.

Many of you have followed my progress with Penhayle Bay and made constructive comments thereon for which I thank you for your interest, time and feedback. That project is now at a mature stage and has little further realistic development potential. It is not about to be broken up or cast aside! I am keeping it in good order and have a modest program of works to be done through our current winter period to allow it to run smoothly for at least another year and hopefully 2 - 3 more yet.

But it is time to consider where I go from here. Penhayle Bay is my first build and my first fixed layout. The techniques were largely self-taught and have been refined and developed over the seven years since it began as an oval of track on the dining room table.

Where to site my next full-size layout (as distinct from a small diorama project which is slowly taking shape) and what form it should take has proved challenging in the think-tank department. There is no suitable room indoors for anything more than a 4' x 2' portable plank and in any case it would need to somehow be cat-proof as well. Outdoors has limitations on quality and presentation (as I know only too well from Penhayle Bay) and the available space is already fully occupied by the present layout which is not going to be hacked about to accommodate a new project.

I do however have space beneath the present layout to create shelves upon which to store a new layout whilst under construction and which can be kept largely weather-proof until the later stages of detailing. So that is where the new layout will be created and live for some time to come. The space available allows for up to four boards each some 6' x 2' 6" though they don't have to necessarily be the full size.

So ..... what will sit on top of those boards which are now scheduled for construction beginning at the very end of this year and through 2013? That is where the title comes in.