Please use M,M&M only for topics that do not fit within other forum areas. All topics posted here await admin team approval to ensure they don't belong elsewhere.

Rob MacKinnon, Aberystwyth University

Introducing myself

I would like to introduce myself, my name is Robert MacKinnon and I am a PhD Researcher from the Institute of Geography & Earth Sciences, Aberystwyth University, undertaking a three year Aberystwyth University funded research project that includes taking a look at model railways. I have to say first off I have not been a practicing modeller for about a decade or so, my object of being with RMweb is to engage with the hobbyist community about my research work and I would like to thank Andy York (RMweb editor) for agreeing to me setting up a blog with open arms.I am interested in both indoor and outdoor model railways, looking at the identities, spaces, motivations and practices (doings) bound up with making and engaging with them. My research project is not entirely take up with looking at model railways, I focus on two other case studies in an attempt to take a look at why and how we make, use and encounter material ‘models’. These other case studies being a historical and archival based study on the work of Britain’s Hydraulics Research Station from c1945-1970 (modelling coasts, rivers and harbours) (anyone with experience in physical hydraulic modelling are welcome to contact me) and then a historical/contemporary study on the tourists’ miniature model village (Babbacombe, Bekonscot ect). Questions as to what ties all these three together conceptually is most important, I have no definite answer at the moment, ‘abstraction’ is an obvious one of sorts but I really need to focus on this.

Research outputs