Converting Bachmann mk1 coach to p4

Harry

• RMweb Gold

Not sure if this is the correct place to put this question but wasn't sure where else it should go.

I've recently brought a Bachmann mk1 coach for my p4 SR plank and have had a few problems. I have run a variety of easily converted vans, trucks etc through the paintwork with no problems and just swapped the Bachmann wheel sets with some p4 ones hoping this would work.

It hasn't! It keeps catching the crossing and derailing. The back to back is a bit out and the frames aren't wide enough for the p4 wheel sets so I was thinking about replacing the bogies with brass compensated/ sprung ones.

This is my first attempt at doing this kind of conversion and am not really sure what the options are out there and where to find what I want? Can anyone help?

Also not too pleased with the wheel sets I brought for the conversion and they don't seem to run true so can anyone recommend better wheels (cant remember who my current ones were made by, think it said Gibson on the pack?)

Thanks in advance for any help,

• RMweb Gold

Are they plastic centered?

In any case if they don't run true they need to go back, replaced by wheels that do. I model 16.5mm and I don't tolerate wheels not running true, I can only imagine what happens in P4! (also don't forget the back to back will change as the wheel moves along too - a problem what ever gauge or standard your working in).

Griff

Not sure if this is the correct place to put this question but wasn't sure where else it should go.

I've recently brought a Bachmann mk1 coach for my p4 SR plank and have had a few problems. I have run a variety of easily converted vans, trucks etc through the paintwork with no problems and just swapped the Bachmann wheel sets with some p4 ones hoping this would work.