GWR Collett BG/Full Brake

Revolution Ben

• RMweb Gold

Hello all

The NGS is planning to produce a model of the GW Collett 57' BG. We are wavering between Diag K41 or K42.

Obviously we'd like to maximise on the possible liveries, but I am no expert on the GWR. One example I am proposing is GW plain chocolate seen here:

post-420-0-73039400-1352232800_thumb.jpg

Is this accurate? Should it have mahogany droplights? Is it good for both K41 and K42?

What other liveries are appropriate for these vehicles?

cheers

Ben A.

• Like 3

The K41 gives more options, the first ones dating from 1934 in Chocolate and cream liveries.

The K42 are later vehicles (1937 onwards) and limit the liveries and options with original batches entering service in all over chocolate livery, though there were examples in BR departmental use until the 1980's.The K42 only appeared in Chocolate and cream post 1945 and not every coach was so treated. W272W, amongst many others, made it to all over rail blue and was in regular use in Newspaper and parcels trains until the late 1970's

You may also wish to consider the K40 which has been discussed at length due to the additional TPO variations

http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/37586-collett-k40-passenger-brake-van-tpo-conversion/page__fromsearch__1

Mike Wiltshire

• Like 1

You may also wish to consider the K40 which has been discussed at length due to the additional TPO variations

The K40 is an interesting and long-lived vehicle. However a decent conversion kit is available from TPM for N gauge, I have built a couple myself. Also the K40s were built more with cross-country use in mind whereas the K41/42s were definitely built for top-link duties. Also I am not aware of any K40s surviving into rail blue (I am prepared to be proved wrong on this point).