Eurostar Intermediate Trailers

So after getting a little annoyed at the lack of intermediate cars for the eurostar ( when you can make a javelin as long or a pendolino longer, it's a bit silly) and despairing at the unavailability of the hurst kit, which considering that you also have the buy donor vehicles makes my bank balance go :/) I've finally decided to do something about it.

Unfortunately my 3d skills are limited so I'm not expecting the best quality and being a student i can't really afford to print lots of test models. I'm also getting dimensions off a hurst conversion using a ruler, seeing as I've so far been unale to access any better blueprints, so probably won't be as accurate as it could be (though I suppose will fit in better, seeing as the Hornby model has its own, rather large, share of inaccuracies).

All that being said, this is what I've got so far (and yh i know, sketchup, but it's all I have) :

h1rWy.png

• Like 1

Good start sga, as you do more you will pick up the techniques to help you make a better model.. If you check out the sticky thread at top of group there are plenty of free 3D CAD apps available which you could check out.

Regards

Tom

I might have to, I'm running into sketchups limitations with things like the roof. it doesnt like trying to model small circles for the rib things along the roof

So, bit of an update. got all of the details in on the sides

Untitled.png

Got body side grills on the side that has it to as close an accuracy as i can get

Untitled1.png

got everything mirrored over to the overside (bodyside grills excluded)

Untitled2.png

now just trying to work out how to do the roof ribs before this piece is done and i can move onto the chassis.

If anyone has any ideas for the ribs would be greatly appreciated

Untitled3.png

• Like 3

• 8 years later...

Mega Necro-ing my own thread