New to This Forum

Hello All

I have just joined the forum and I have been doing 3D modelling for about 2 months. I have been modelling the Western Australia Government Railways (WAGR) since 1980, in Sn3.5 scale (16.5 mm track = 1067 mm (3' 6") narrow gauge, 1/64 scale).

I have embarked on a fairly ambitious project to produce a model of a WAGR R class diesel locomotive - here is a prototype photo. The prototype was made in Australia by English Electric in the late 1960's.

So far, I have nearly completed the 3D model of the body, using Rhino 3D, and I have had some test prints done of the short hood only (about 10% of the loco body) by three of the 3D print bureaux in Europe, plus some contacts in Australia have kindly some test prints on their home-based desktop 3D printers.

The bogie sideframes, fuel tank and underframe are yet to be modelled. Fortunately, I have access to good prototype info including the manufacturer's general arrangement drawings, drawings published in an Australian magazine, and extensive photos of prototype locos, some of which are still operating.

I am using a custom-made drive bogie and matching dummy bogie from an Australian supplier. As of about 1 week ago, I have a running loco to use as a test bed, based on a footplate made from 3 mm clear polycarbonate, a styrene mock-up of the cab and long hood, and a 3D printed short hood.

I am leaning towards the Prime Grey material from i.Materialise although I am still on the lookout for a somewhat higher-res finish, particular as the loco has curved roof and ends which exacerbate the stepping from the 3D printing process. I have tried the Shapeways FUD material which was clearly the best in terms of fine detail and minimal stepping, but marred by unwanted ripple and texture effects, which seems to be common based on my limited exploration of this forum so far.

(I have attached a photo of the short hood in Prime Gray.)