Working with MSTS shapes

Hi,

The line I'm modelling has a well regarded Microsoft Train Simulator version of it available, and I recently downloaded it, had a morning of updating my vintage copy of MSTS and had a look.  As I was exploring the route it occurred to me that I could use the shape files from the game to help me make the buildings I require, in as much as they are largely accurate and could perhaps be printed onto card as placeholders

Well, so far I've managed to work out how to get the shell into Sketchup by using Shapeconverter to turn the .s file into a .3ds.  However, it's mirrored and lacks the textures from in game.  Here's how the station building looks in game (view from shapeviewer):

post-6973-0-22247000-1362045092.jpg

In Sketchup after attempting to scale (and failing).

I'd really appreciate guidance about how to import the MSTS model into a program that might allow me to break it down into flat parts retaining the textures.  I'm a total CAD novice.

Thanks

post-6973-0-99837600-1362045128.jpg

Well, I'm not trying to sell the models or create something for anybody else, I'm trying to use them as an aid to modeling.  What you're saying is akin to suggesting that anyone who has trademarks visible on their layout (eg adverts) is acting against copyright, or even that  we're breaking copyright by using anybody else's research for helping our modelling.

Well, I'm not trying to sell the models or create something for anybody else, I'm trying to use them as an aid to modeling.  What you're saying is akin to suggesting that anyone who has trademarks visible on their layout (eg adverts) is acting against copyright, or even that  we're breaking copyright by using anybody else's research for helping our modelling.

Trademark is not copyright. Trademark is only a problem when you sell things or otherwise imply that you are the "authentic" article. Now a trademarked logo (graphical one) could also be copyright as well - eg the virgin logo.