70's BR Diesel

rail_blue

Hello, my name is Matt and my two year old son, Ben and I have been given a Hornby DCC set by father Christmas! Not content with watching trains go round in circles on the lounge carpet I have decided to build a model railway. I've got some experience in modelling but have never tried to build a model railway before, however, I have been doing some research and have a vague idea about what I want to do:

1. (The most important point!) Thomas the tank engine and his friends must be able to come and play on the layout!

2. When Thomas and his friends have gone to bed the BR rail blue diesels will come out to play.

3. The layout will be set in the 1970's (I may get more precise later) and will feature passenger DMU's and some freight traffic.

4. The freight traffic will all be closed containers/wagons, the idea being that loading and unloading can be left to the imagination.

5. The layout will be staged on two 4' x 2' base boards. I have not decided whether these will be joined end to end or "L" shaped.

Thus far I have constructed the first base board using 6mm ply reinforced by 2" x 1" batons. I considered using flexible track but as this is my first attempt I think it may be simpler to use Peco set track?

Any suggestions on where to go from here will be gratefully received.

I will post some photos in the next week or so, as soon as I complete the second board.

Once you get the hang of laying it, flexitrack can give you much more realistic shapes and curves. It can also work out considerably cheaper than the set-track alternatives. Depending on your chosen method, it can also mean getting away with less wiring (the golden rule for me is at least one dropper for each section of track). If, like me, you're more keen to get on with the layout building than you are to sit about track-planning, flexitrack gives you a little more leeway when you realise that curve doesn't quite fit where you thought it would :blink: