Grain of wheat bulbs.

Hi. Now I'm not an electrician and need advice regarding grain of wheat bulbs.  I have 60 bulbs to wire up on the layout for street lighting and buildings.

I know about series and parallel wiring.  My question is, will a 3 amp 12v transformer be sufficient. Also does parallel wiring increase the wattage required or does this make no difference whether it in series or parallel.

Regads Ken

• RMweb Premium

I think I worked out that a GoW bulb draws about 30mA. Sixty times 30mA equals 1.8A so your power supply should be sufficient.

Wiring the bulbs in series will reduce (halve?) the brightness of each bulb, wiring them in parallel whether through a switch or not is how I would envisage they'd be wired - i.e. one wire of each bulb connected to the +ve and the other side connected to -ve. You may want to fit a switch between groups of bulbs and the +ve rather than have all of the bulbs powered at all times when the supply is turn on.

Thanks for the replies.  I started by wiring the first set of street lights (three bulbs per lamp) to a 1amp transformer. It tripped after three minutes.

At first I assumed it was faulty, manufacturer said I was lucky to illuminated 21 bulbs, 14 being what could be expected.

Miss Prism, I was thinking of wiring in blocks of three series.  The three blocks are then wired in parallel which I thought would reduce the brightness.

Alternatively, I could wire in all in parallel and install a cheap panel controller. Which is going to be the best, I'm not sure.

What I would like is a dimish light and long lasting bulbs.

These are some of the lights, caught before the power tripped.

post-150-0-14680100-1375685879_thumb.jpg

Personally I do use these by wiring groups in series switched - -  so they can be independently controlled 

then