Tram Tracks

RichardS

Hello, I have been asked to help a friend make an HO continental model tramway. He has grand plans and a budget and I have some railway modelling experience. Not an auspicious start is it?

To begin with we need a plan and to arrive at this stage we need to know what track to use. I've found a website:  http://www.tramwayinfo.com/    which gives useful information about dimensions and general geometry. But I cannot find much about ready to run track systems.

I note that the tramwayinfo site suggests using Peco code 75. Also I am aware of the Luna track system which would be suitable - but it is costly and could consume a huge chunk of the budget. I have also heard of Swedtrack but that seems to be suitable for more bespoke situations. 

With all the tram models available on the continent there must surely be an economical system suitable for a largely urban environment. I am beginning to think there is not. Can anybody suggest a solution please?

Apologies if this subject has been addressed in earlier postings.

Many thanks

RichardS 

Hi Richard,

Trackwork is the perennial stumbling block for tramway modelling...

There have been several threads over the years on this and the old version of the forum.

http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/44613-tram-rails/

is probably a good starting point as it also includes links to several other similar threads.

Paul

You said continental ... it would help to know which country.

For instance, in Belgium the present practice is to use grooved rail only on street running sections, all reserved sections are conventional light rail formations - but so heavily ballasted that the sleepers are often invisible. They are also quite fond of running track through areas that are allowed to grass over - again only the rails are visible.

Thanks folks for the replies above.

The desired location is Central Europe -  Czech/East Germany was mentioned.  

I'll investigate the older threads.