DMU Set numbers

treggyman

Hi All

I have built an '80's / 90's layout called Creedyford which features on this site.

I wish to run DMU's as well as loco hauled passenger trains.

At this time DMU's had a set number & letter prefix painted on the cab fronts.....ie.P460 where the P relates to the unit being allocated to Plymouth Laira & the set number (I assume) being 460.The unit in question is the class 118 unit painted in Telecoms livery.

The question really is.....I have several books on the first generation DMU's.....I can find the sets that they ran in (vehicle numbers ) but none give me a set number (Pxxx).

A lot of the pictures on the internet & elsewhere just say "DMU at Wherever".....The set number is visible but no mention of the class of DMU.......

As I'm not good at distinguishing the class of DMU from face on or 3/4 view pictures I am wondering if somewhere there is a publication or site that lists set numbers with class of DMU &  vehicle numbers within the set......

I was just about to apply numbers to the front of a Class 108 when I realised the door layout was different on the picture I was studying....I think the unit in question was a 118....but I'm not sure......

Thanks in advance

Bill

• Friendly/supportive 1

Platform five number books were one of the first to publish set numbers. With the Western being first to be published mainstream.

Only a very few gained a tops based class number and these were once the majority of first gen dmu's had gone.

Hi All

I have built an '80's / 90's layout called Creedyford which features on this site.

I wish to run DMU's as well as loco hauled passenger trains.

At this time DMU's had a set number & letter prefix painted on the cab fronts.....ie.P460 where the P relates to the unit being allocated to Plymouth Laira & the set number (I assume) being 460.The unit in question is the class 118 unit painted in Telecoms livery.