McGowan Models

I'm looking at an unbuilt McGowans whitemetal GCR atlantic at the moment and considering whether or not to take a punt on it.  I've no experience of building McGowan kits and I can't find much around the web on what their kits are like to build.  Has anyone around these parts taken on a McGowans kit, and if so would you recommend them?- are the kits good or bad, what is the quality of the parts like, do they result in models that look like the real thing etc?

I cannot comment on the Atlantic but I did build one of their WD 2-8-0 body line kits many years ago. It was amongst the cruder whitemetal kits I built, not on a par with K's or NuCast and nothing like a DJH. The boiler was a bit oval and the general finish a bit rough.

It was posted quite recently on here that the original brass masters were very good but that the kits were let down in the casting.

Pretty awful by today's standards. Soft metal, not great quality castings. Not that I've built a lot - mine may have come from the end of the life of the moulds.

If you want a Jersey Lily your best bet at the moment might be to look at Worsley Works etches and source the castings elsewhere (Craftsman? or soem of the McGowan ones might be worth recycling).

This chap used to offer what looked like new castings off the McGowan moulds, but his website seems to have been closed down. I have one of his B4 kits as well as an original McGowan one and as far as I can see they are identical.

I suspect that might - just might - be Mike Wynn, former proprietor of Tru-Scale Models (Manchester and Rhyl) who was at his peak here in the mid to late 1980s. The stresses of running TSM caused something of a nervous breakdown, after which he moved to Spain and became a born-again Christian.