JB Models: 1:450, 1:87 & 1:76 scale models and detailing parts.

Hey,

I am pretty new to 3D modelling but I discovered Sketchup a few months ago. IMO it seems to be the easiest of all 3D softwares and I instantly took a liking to it. Railways like those in Sri Lanka, The UAE and India are not represented at all so I thought I'd take a try at designing some models whilst I save up money to have them 3D printed.

My first model which I started yesterday is the
WDM-3D that is used in India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. I will be doing on the Indian version. Here are some images below. So far I just got the chassis done. I try to add as much detail as possible. Hope you'll like it?

For each model I will edit/update this post to eliminate confusion. So as and when I finish doing the body and bogies I will add it to this post.

HO scale (1:87) WDM-3D (Updated 6/11/14):

The files that will be 3D printed from a supplier that I am still not sure off...
post-21774-0-97627100-1415279393.jpg

Overview
post-21774-0-51583900-1415279409.jpg

Overview
post-21774-0-66184200-1415279632.jpg

Overview
post-21774-0-88509200-1415279649.jpg

Overview
post-21774-0-40831700-1415279683.jpg

I plan on using an upcoming NWSL Co-Co "Stanton" drive system to power this. In the long run I'd also like to add stuff like DCC sound and lighting. Anyone who has used the NWSL Stanton drive units? I'd love to hear some feedback.

Cheers.

Hi Mike,

Thank you so much for the compliments. Well the empty spaces serve two purposes - 1) being to reduce the cost where ever there is flat surfaces and 2) being etched see through grilles. The 2 bigger rectangular spaces and smaller one towards the center are to fill in with 1mm plastikard with the doors engraved on them and etched door hinges. The other smaller empty spaces on the short hood, long hood and the bigger one near the end are actually grilles, I plan on having them etched so that I have a nice see through effect.