Got the urge

Steve Purves

• RMweb Premium

I'm not really sure why I am writing this post to be honest. I am a long standing N gauge follower/builder but have a real itch to give 2mm a try. Its been nagging me for a while and the only way I think I can curb it is to actually give in to it. I have never built my own track before, other than that it doesn't really worry me. I model the early 1990's generally, My current layout build is 'essence of New Street' in the main layout topics if you want to get an idea of that I do (my previous layouts are also in my signature)

Due to a recent financial difficuly I had to give my rolling stock a pasting, as a result I only have 2 loco's, 2 DMU's and a rake of parcels stock (plus an Nthusiast Tamper I am currently building) so there is not much stock to rewheel either...

I'm slowly talking myself in to it...

Hi Steve,

Join the 2mm Scale Association, www.2mm.org.uk , buy some wheels to convert your locos, DMUs and stock along with some Easitrac and you won't look back! In fact, you'll wonder why you ever put up with N-gauge wheel standards.

Jim

Hi Steve

We met again at Peterborough last October.  You were enthused by "Welton Down" just as I was enthused by "Apa Park" at the NGS AGM the previous June.  As Caley Jim says, join the 2mm Scale Association (www.2mm.org.uk) and give it a try.  You will see WD is featured in this month's BRM, based on photos that Andy took at the Peterborough Show.  I have to say that I am really pleased with the way they have come out in print.

Best wishes

Jim

• RMweb Premium

Entirely agree with what the two Jims have said. I do like your layouts, Steve, but you will have to ease out the curves a little for 2FS. I thought that Apagele was one of your best and would have worked perfectly as a 2FS design.

David

• RMweb Gold

Why would you not go to 2mm FS?