Soldering track feeds to bus wire

philsandy

I am just beginning wiring my layout.

I have soldered solid copper wire droppers to every piece of track and then soldered flexible 1.5mm wire to these to run to the bus wires along the underside edge of the board.

It is only a small layout, "L" shape 8' x 6' and most of the track feeds are in a confined area of the station layout.

Is it OK to join all the wires from each feed together and then solder them to the bus wire as one wire so to speak. ie. join 10 red feed wires together and join the 10 black feed wires together and then solder each one to the corresponding bus wire.

Or is it better to connect them to the bus wires as individual connections.

I'm not very good at soldering and looking for an easier way round. I thought about using terminal blocks but am told they are not as reliable as a soldered joint.

You have to remember that sections of your 1.5mm wire wil be carrying current to more than one piece of track if you do as you suggest. For your size of layout it should be fine.

It is true that soldering is more reliable, but there's nothing wrong with terminal blocks. Every house in the country has hundreds of screw connections in the mains wiring. For better reliability the wire ends should have a crimped-on ferrule before inserting into the screw terminal. What you should not do is tin the ends of the wire to solder the strands together when using terminal blocks.

Andrew

On a practical note you might need to think about the size / power of your soldering iron.  I use the copper cores from 240 volt 'mains' cable for my 'buses'.  I only have a soldering iron with a 'fine' tip which is great for control panel work but it does not really have enough heat in it when attempting to connect 'droppers' to a big copper heat sink like my 'mains' bus.  It will work - but only just.

Just some rambling thoughts.

Ray

• RMweb Gold