read/change cv settings for decoders

ste37

Hi All,

Please can someone help? Im new to dcc I understand all the fundamentals. I bought a Dapol class 26 of Ebay with a decoder fitted now the Ebayer I bought it off has tweaked the cv's and runs like a dream. Is their away I can read the cv's so I can change my other decoders to match the same smooth handling!

Any help or advice would be very welome thank you in advance Steve.

P.s forgot to add dcc controller is a Gaugemaster prodigy express.     

Hi

One locos CV setting is not necessarily the same for another identical loco! Though it will in most cases be a good guide.

You place the loco onto the Programming track and select Read CVs Select the CV number you wish to read and the DCC system should read and display the value set in that CV. You will need to make a note of the CV number and its value then do the same for all the other CVs.

If you have the Gaugemaster software and connecting lead you should be able to read all the CV values and store them on your PC making life easier.

Alternatively is to obtain a SPROG II and via the free JMRI software do the same. - Read CVs and store all their values on a PC.

Edit to correct typo error,

Hi Steve

There are many ways of reading the CV values from your Dapol Class 26 but it won't necessarily help you to get your other locos running any better. Think about it if you could just copy the same settings from one loco to another then there would be no point in having changeable values. The idea of the CVs is to have the ability to tune every decoder/loco combination to give optimum performance. Let me just give you a few examples:

• Easiest case - Let's say you had another Dapol Class 26 with the same decoder then your plan may work but if for example the mechanism was "stickier" then you would need to tweak one or more CVs to try and make it like the original.