Small N-gauge layout - "Chinthurst"

JonathanB

Hi, I'm new to this and have been playing around with a small N-gauge layout for a while. I've actually got some way to construction (very very slowly as time allows). I wanted to create a small scene to start with that could represent a branch line somewhere in the steam era, although it could just as easily be a restored line - nothing too serious here. To help things along I've been a little inspired by the Guildford-Horsham line which ran via Cranleigh and am imagining my layout to be a branch from this. The baseboard is just 900mm x 300mm (so just under 3ft x 1ft) which I'm now wondering is too small, but I really would like to make something of it as it is for now, so that size is fixed.

My initial plans are along the lines of the following, and I've already created the main track level and bridge over the canal section, along with side and rear risers for the hill at the right hand end.

post-9872-032064700 1284573842_thumb.jpg

The idea is that the track could be later connected at one or other of the ends to extend the layout. The front spur would descend to the canal for loading/unloading of freight.

The initial progress looks like the below, and I'm planning on building up with polystyrene coved in modroc bandage to shape the contours initially.

post-9872-088222500 1284574278_thumb.jpg

Just wondering if there are any comments or advice that can be offered to a newbie! I expect I won't get very much done until December when I have some time off work, but I thought I'd post this up now while I was thinking about it!

Thanks,

Jonathan.

Just thought I'd also add that I haven't got any stock yet, other than the 1414 Tank loco in the picture. I'd quite like to stick to these small locos (would like to get a Terrier) and smaller wagons and carriages (although doesn't look like you can get ready to run 26' style carriages as were used on the Guildford-Horsham line - as shown here.).

• RMweb Gold

Hi Jonathan,