The non-railway and non-modelling social zone. Please ensure forum rules are adhered to in this area too!

M.A. Project - Recreating York Railways Station 1958 on film.

Jamiel

I am a mature student studying for a Masters in (Film and Television) Postproduction with Visual Effects at the University of York and would appreciate any help forum members might be able to give. Credit will be given to those helping.

There are several areas I am looking to cover:

1. Films and TV series which show Railway Stations in them, either current at the time of filming, or especially recreated.

2. Films and TV series that use transport, and locations for departure/arrival as key settings, e.g. The airfield at the end of the first episode of ‘Band of Brothers’.

3. Books, information, photos, research, etc. covering York Railway Station in the 1950’s.

The dissertation will have two components, a short film and a written essay (10,000 words). The focus will be mainly on how much information needs to be shown to convince various target groups of the authenticity of the station and time. I will show the finished piece to various groups, hopefully some on the forum, who with your detailed knowledge of railways I am expecting to form the most difficult group to convince. I suspect that some of fellow students in their 20’s will prove easier to convince, maybe just a steam train added over current state of the station.

The filmed piece will combine location shots at York Station, preserved railways, 3D computer graphics, model shots of my own layout Ellerby, and retouched archive footage.

I will start a list of materials I have already found in the following posts.

Any help or comment would be greatly appreciated.

Jamie

(I hope I have posted this in the correct area of the form, please move the thread of you feel it would suit another area better.)

Films. I will add to this list if people can make suggestions.

Brief Encounter (set at the time it was shot)